My hair dye fail

I have regularly coloured my hair since I went natural, more especially when my hair was short because there was not much else I could do with it. However since I started taking my hair’s health seriously, I have stepped away from the constant dyeing and it had been about 6-8 months since dye last touched my tresses. But then I see these pictures….420165_409686442380806_562505513_n 526585_641422929216974_885845128_n…and start missing my dyed days.

hair growth progress-June 2011

So I headed to Clicks and got myself Inecto Henna burgundy hair dye shown below…

IMG_2183

Now of course I didnt expect my hair to turn the colour of the box, I knew because I have black hair to begin with the colour wouldn’t show as much. I did plan to use a honey and lemon concoction as a natural lightener first (instructions here) but it seemed so tedious so I abandoned the idea pretty quickly. I had brown ends already so I expected my ends to go burgundy at least. So I followed the steps, I was so excited I took pics!

Pre-dye hair after a quick shampoo
Pre-dye hair after a quick shampoo
Pre-dye closeup...
Pre-dye closeup…
Hair dye applied....
Hair dye applied….

I kept it on for 30 minutes like the instructions said and excitedly rinsed it off expecting hints of burgundy…but instead I got this:

???????????????????????????????

Jet black hair! Arrrrgggghhhhh!!!! My cousin was the first to see me the next day and before I could say anything she said “Why is your hair so black?” Sigh, Inecto, joke’s on me!

???????????????????????????????

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Michiko says:

    lol the same thing happened to me when I tried to color my hair using heena and food color! no color change what so ever! I just had to use box color (dark and lovely color intensity) and I love the results! 😀

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Ah good! so I’m not the only one!!! I’ll try lightening with honey first then give the henna a shot again, if that fails I’m heading to my nearest salon for a good dye job,lol.

  2. Michiko says:

    My salonist told me it’s kinda hard to dye natural hair but I hope the lemon helps! 🙂

  3. Lydz says:

    Natural henna will not give you a “proper” colour per say just a hue sort of like a reddish brownish tint which is more visible in sunlight or bright lighting. The inecto powder you bought is not pure henna that is just hair dye with some henna in it. Natural henna is green in colour and the end result depends on your hair’s texture the colour is more prominent on Asian/Caucasian hairs than Afro hair so if you really want popping colour stick to the ones that are clearly labelled hair dye without any “henna” additions. You can check for L’Oreal or Dark and Lovely hair dyes where you live or online.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Thanks. I’ve used dark and lovely before but I was trying to avoid peroxide. I’ve also used pure henna before but like you say I didn’t get much out of it so I was hoping the Inecto henna would be stronger since some of my friends have had good results with it unlike me.

  4. Lindi says:

    Would love to see the effect after you’ve done the natural lightner. Recently embarked on my natural hair journey and looking for ways to spice it up from time to time. Would like to see how it works out.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      When I get the energy to try it out I’ll definitely write a post about it! 🙂

  5. Brenda says:

    I am pissed, i bought 2 boxes of henna brown powder by inecto at clicks this morning, i was very excited to find a natural hair colourant as i have been dying my hair with the other unnatural brands that contain chemicals. Since i read that one risks developing cance in the long run, i decided to look for natural alternatives
    . I used all 4 packets in the box cause i have dreadlocks and wanted to make sure the colour takes everywhere.
    My hair was already light brown, waited 45 minutes to be sure, guess what, my hair is pitch black and i look so dull 😦

    1. Ms Z. says:

      I can imagine how frustrated that must have been! I think it’s safe to say Inecto henna dye is useless!

    2. Irene Lisa says:

      Shame sorry about tht! My friend experienced the same thing. When i 1st began transitioning i got my 1st dye professionally done by some indian hairstylist. He told me because my was natural it would take longer to catch the dye or that it might not catch at all so i would have to colour my entire head instead of getting the highlights i wanted. Boy was he wrong! It caught he dye pretty quick and at first i didn’t like the colour but he reassured me that i would as time went by and sure enough i did start liking it. My only issue was that my hair kept breaking off. I think it was due to poor hair styling and care. Consequentially, i began cutting off bits of colour everytime i undid my protective styles until i was left wit none. 2 months ago i began looking in2 henna and fell in love with the colour n benefits of it. With nothing holding me back,i did my 1st henna treatment using apple cider vinegar,lemon juice, green tea and pure ground henna powder(the green stuff). I loved how my strong and thick my hair felt after! Although,my hair didn’t catch that auburn tinge i badly wanted. Three weeks later i tried the same recipe and when i still didn’t get the colour i wanted,i switched it up the third time. This time i used, a combination of black and hibiscus tea and some apple cider vinegar. It worked lyk a charm! I got that reddish tinge i wanted! The best part about it is that its a chemical free dye and my feels fuller and stronger!

  6. Irene Lisa says:

    Shame sorry about tht! My friend experienced the same thing. When i 1st began transitioning i got my 1st dye professionally done by some indian hairstylist. He told me because my was natural it would take longer to catch the dye or that it might not catch at all so i would have to colour my entire head instead of getting the highlights i wanted. Boy was he wrong! It caught he dye pretty quick and at first i didn’t like the colour but he reassured me that i would as time went by and sure enough i did start liking it. My only issue was that my hair kept breaking off. I think it was due to poor hair styling and care. Consequentially, i began cutting off bits of colour everytime i undid my protective styles until i was left wit none. 2 months ago i began looking in2 henna and fell in love with the colour n benefits of it. With nothing holding me back,i did my 1st henna treatment using apple cider vinegar,lemon juice, green tea and pure ground henna powder(the green stuff). I loved how my strong and thick my hair felt after! Although,my hair didn’t catch that auburn tinge i badly wanted. Three weeks later i tried the same recipe and when i still didn’t get the colour i wanted,i switched it up the third time. This time i used, a combination of black and hibiscus tea and some apple cider vinegar. It worked lyk a charm! I got that reddish tinge i wanted! The best part about it is that its a chemical free dye and my feels fuller and stronger!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Thanks for the tips! I had given up on pure henna but you’ve given me hope! It is now next on my hair to-do list! 🙂

  7. RG says:

    well i guest the inecto henna aint just working. i tried it 2 times…my hair is black as a black towel. i want to know though how bad would the damage be if i use the cream colorant meaning the other dye form containing chemicals. i wanted a new hair color for the new year,well i got darker, not what i wanted.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      I don’t quite understand the question, you want to dye your hair again? How long has it been since your last dye job?

  8. Rato says:

    Nx I wish I read ur comments b4 dying my hair! I tried the inecto hena in the burgundy colour. My hair is now PITCH BLACK yet my scalp is maroonish.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Yeah I think Inecto is just a bad dye. At least we know now!

      1. chanel says:

        i dyed my hair with inecto two days ago and now I have chemical burns to scalp,ears and neck

  9. petro says:

    i also tried inecto henna burgundy and my hair is black, do we claim our money back?

    1. Brandy says:

      I wish we could! lol

  10. Eyram says:

    Omw!
    Same thing happened to me. I thought for a moment that there was something wrong with my hair’s makeup.
    I think I’m off to make a big deal about it with inecto.
    This is soooo wrong!

  11. leon says:

    first try to bleach your hair

  12. Miss T says:

    As many here have said already, I wish I read this before investing in Burgundy henna dye. My locks colour was cherry red and I need to tone it down a little. To my annoyance, it’s pitch black. I hate it and planning to give it 3 weeks then try again with a different product….. not inecto ever!!!!

    1. Brandy says:

      I feel your pain! You may have to lighten it a little first since its now pitch black.

  13. Hazel K says:

    Thank you guys. Was considering innecto because I want do dye my 4c mane auburn but from what I’ve read I think I’ll pass. Any suggestions on what products I can use??

    1. Brandy says:

      I think if you want a strong color you’ll have to go with a peroxide dye like dark and lovely or L’oreal, the natural ones will only give a tinge if at all.

  14. gudfewd says:

    I am curreny sitting with a henna hibiscus treatment. I will be leaving it for at least 4 hours. I have shoulder length locs.LETS SEE WHAT HAPPENS

    1. Brandy says:

      What happened?

  15. kelly says:

    i also bought inecto burgundy i was all exited to get a new colour for my locs . but dololo i got pitch black locs . i will never buy inecto products , what a waste of my money

Leave a comment