Product re-up

on

So I have finally found some cheap Chinese hair products to replace my now finished shampoo and conditioner. I decided to put my limited knowledge of the language to use and search for some natural Chinese hair products online (i.e no parabens, sulphates etc). I had intended to buy American natural products which can easily be found on China’s ebay, Taobao, but at ridiculous prices as far as my wallet is concerned. Then I remembered I am in a country that created it’s own system of medical practices so they must have some natural hair products , and sure enough their cup runneth over! One could drown in the endless lists of Chinese herbs that do something or other for the body so I simply picked the first result that popped up when I searched.

Shampoo: Pure natural Shouwu Zaojiao shampoo (首乌皂角洗发水) made by Lao Nong Jia (老农家).

Nat Chinese ShampooI LOVE this shampoo!! I leaves my hair moisturized and detangled. It’s just as good as using African black soap or the Earthsapp shampoo that I used to buy from Spar in Botswana. I am a fan. It shall certainly be my main shampoo while I am here. It only set me back 18 yuan. It has a bit of a unique scent but nothing strong or offensive and it doesn’t stay in the hair after rinsing. The main ingredients are multiflower knotweed/polygonum multiform or Shouwu in Chinese, and Chinese honey locust or Zaojiao in Chinese. So what do they do?

Multiflower knotweedHe shou wu root

Chinese honey locustjpg

  • prevents build up of dandruff
  • cures head fungus
  • revitalises sebaceus glands (small glands in the skin which secretes a lubricating oily matter (sebum) into the hair follicles to lubricate the skin and hair)
  • prevents hair loss
  • stimulates hair growth
  • brings out hair’s natural shine

Conditioner : Ginger King (姜王护发素) by Old Ginger King (老姜王)

Ginger King

I found this conditioner through another natural hair blog called Blacktoufa by an American student currently studying in China. It is a decent conditioner though I am not fully satisfied with it. My hair feels better after being shampooed than it does after being conditioned. I may search again for a different conditioner after this one is finished. It’s main ingredient as the title alludes is ginger.

Ginger

  • Contains magnesium, phosphorous, potassium and vitamins that make hair stronger
  • boosts hair growth
  • helps keep hair moisturized
  • can prevent build up of dandruff

My other products that I have bought here to add to my hair arsenal are:

  • Coconut oil
  • Grapeseed oil
  • Shea butter
  • Cantu Shea butter Leave in Conditioning hair cream

For now I am quite happy with my current products. I may expand my oil collection a little in the coming winter months as I will spend majority of the time in braids again. I think so far Autumn (which we are currently in the middle of) and Spring ( which begins in March) are the best times for my hair to be out because the temperature is not too high or too low. However winter is too cold and summer is too hot so for those two seasons I will try be in a protective style throughout. I also want to add protein treatment to my products or alternatively use eggs. I am also thinking of trimming soon, possibly before I braid my hair again.

Below is the most recent picture I have of my hair in a shrunken fro, I was attending a Chinese friend’s art exhibit. I love wearing my hair out like this!

IMG_20150927_232850

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I always like your blog post because you always comes with different ideas and information. I always shared your site post with my friends. Keep posting and i will follow you.

    Hair Transplant in Indore

  2. Sai says:

    Just found your site. So inspiring and brave to go that far from home. Keep doing you and posting! Will link to friends XD

Leave a Reply

