A fro in China

So my fro and I safely arrived in China (Baoding) about 2-3 weeks ago.

It’s been an interesting few weeks too, trying to get accustomed to life here and meeting many different people. Before leaving Botswana I of course put my hair in braids again so that I didn’t have to worry about hair during my settling period. However 3 weeks later I was itching to remove them and I finally gave in last week.

To prepare my hair for braiding I did my usual wash routine and used the tension method to straighten it somewhat to avoid having the hairstylist do it at the salon and probably yank my hair out in the process. Though I think I did a decent job, she still insisted on doing it again. Thankfully it wasn’t really painful because it wasn’t as tangled as it would have been had I not straightened it.

IMG_20140830_182502

The braids took 2 hours to do which was great! The hairstylist was very fast! I was very happy with the size and how she braided them too so next time I’m in Francistown and need my hurr did, I’ll definitely use her again.

IMG_20140831_173501I put together a little hair product package for myself when coming to China though I was very limited quantity wise given that I had to watch my overall baggage weight. I will use them while I look for possible replacements from the supermarkets and online. Black hair products are not available locally here in my city (Baoding) because the expatriate population is very small but I’m sure in Beijing (which is 45 minutes away by train) they may available.

???????????????????????????????The weather is hair friendly too, more humid than Botswana which means my hair won’t dry out in summer (though it will shrink a lot) and moisture hair is my napp’s holy grail. So far my oils (coconut and castor) are working very well. My hair hasn’t been acting up either, so far so good. Winter is approaching though and luckily extensions are sold online and there is a student that braids on my campus so I can get it braided for winter.

My shrunken puffy fro
My shrunken puffy fro

I was really worried about my hair care routine being messed up while I live here but now I’m not panicking as much. I think everything will be fine.

How’s your hair journey going?

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Busi says:

    your hairs still looking healthy. Enjoy China

  2. awsomeee 🙂
    Dont forget to share Pictures
    xoxoxxo Enjoy

    1. Brandy says:

      Will do! Keep an eye on my other blog for more stories about my travels here (funkyforyou.wordpress.com)

  3. Have you heard the beer theory? Great for hair apparently.

    1. Oh yes I have I need to try that out 🙂

  4. Lindi says:

    All the best. Looking forward to your natural hair journey in China!

  5. Lydz says:

    Maybe you could try looking for hair products in Guangzhou? Huge African population over there. In my experience anywhere with a huge black (African) population will most likely have products you need and hair salons. I am not sure how far it is from you though but it is worth checking out how possible it would be to get products from there.

  6. So lovely to read about another natural in the East. I’m a South African in Tokyo, and only started my healthy hair journey once I moved here. Looking forward to reading more about your hair and travel stories. 🙂

    1. Brandy says:

      I also hunted for naturals in the east before moving here but I couldn’t even find one! So it’s lovely to hear from you! I’m hoping to visit Hong Kong in the future so maybe we could we meet up?

      1. It’d would be amazing to meet up, you’ll have to pop over to Japan though 🙂 We can hair product shopping together.

      2. Brandy says:

        hahahaha!!! my bad, i don’t know why i read Hong Kong instead of Tokyo!! I would love to go product shopping there, I’m sure they have a better selection than China.

      3. The selection is pretty good actually in terns of natural products, but not for styling products meant for kinky/curly hair. Those I stock up on when I travel or oder online. Not sure if I’ll make it to China but if you do end up in Tokyo at some point, let me know 🙂

  7. I’d be so interested in hearing about the perception of your hair in China. Please post anout your experiences 🙂 Ill be looking out

    1. kangopie says:

      Im waiting for that too

      1. Brandy says:

        Will get on it straight away!

Leave a Reply

