I braided my own hair!

on

This is a quick update on what my hair is doing right now…

1795392_719894148044898_2147016674_oCurrently I am in kinky twists and I am especially proud of these because I braided them myself! I had gotten a little wary of the fro and needed it to be out of my way for a week or two. My usual go to hair dresser, my dear cousin Tania, was out of the country so I had to come up with a plan B. Rather than go sit at a salon for an hour or so while I cringed every time the hair dresser pulled my kink into submission, I decided I would do it myself.

Great thing about kinky twists is they don’t have to be particularly neat, after all they aim to imitate the frizziness of natural hair. So my only worry was getting the partings right. I decided to break it up into 2 steps: do mini-twists with my hair, then replace each mini-twist with a kinky twist. I bullied a male friend into helping me section my hair into 4 parts. I just needed the middle line and the line from ear to ear to make sense, everything else could be a mess.

I put in the mini twists and kept them for a day then the following evening, one by one, I took down each mini twist then attached the kinky extension to the hair and re-twisted. It took me about 2-3 hours with constant breaks in between (I may have napped too!)

1599636_719894228044890_328152390_o

Maintenance wise I am doing the usual:

  • spray daily with Jamaican Mango and Lime no itch grow spray
  • base scalp with a mixture of extra virgin olive oil and castor oil once/twice a week
  • shampoo once every 2 weeks (or when hair begins to itch)

When the front gets messy, I simply retwist to keep it looking somewhat neat. I love these kinky extensions especially because they dry so fast! Faster than my hair actually. So wash days are a breeze, no blow dryer needed, just a book/movie and a towel. These extensions are ones that I have used before, I simply washed them for reuse. They don’t lose their shape the way that normal extensions do so they are good enough to reuse.

I will keep these in for another 2 weeks ( including this one) then give my hair some hot oil treatment and protein treatment love. After that I may braid it again or let fro hang out.

What is your hair currently doing?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Lydz says:

    Well done you! I failed miserably at my attempt to braid my own hair lol while I can fix back a loose twist or braid I have never been able to do my entire head. But not giving up just yet will keep trying just have to find the time and the motivation to do it:)

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Yes don’t give up! I think the difficult part is the middle because you can’t see anything. But at the end of the day, no one will see that section anyway so it doesn’t matter, lol!

  2. One says:

    I love those kinky braids…Yew did well hey!!!!They are really cool and doing it for yew!! haven’t had time to via Clicks hopefully I will to try that spray, as for now my Fro is hidden under braids,end of month it shall get some air.yippppppppppppppppppppppppppppe 🙂

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

