New year, new hair goals!

So it’s that time of year again, when we look back at the progress made and set new goals for the coming year. This particular post is of course in relation to my hair.

Last year January....
Last year January….

Here’s what I aimed to do last year and the results…

Use castor oil religiously to thicken up my hairline and regularly apply to scalp as well.

I am still super lazy as far as oiling my scalp is concerned! I did keep up with the hairline application though! However in terms of results I haven’t seen much improvement and it’s been well over 6 months. So I think my hair line just is the way it is. After all castor oil cannot make new hair grow, it only thickens what is already there.

Retain some length by mostly employing protective styling.

I succeeded with this mission! I have definitely gained length! My front hair is now at lip length, hoping to get to shoulder by the end of this year. I spaced out my protective styling though and didn’t force it. I’d just braid it when I needed a break or when I was travelling. I wasn’t too anal about it. The main reason I gained length though was because I trimmed my hair. Yes that worked because it removed the damaged ends that were constantly breaking. I am due for another trim soon but haven’t decided whether to do it at the salon or to do it on my own.

This year January...
This year January…

Establish regular products especially shampoo, conditioner and moisturizer.

I’ve calmed down with my junkie tendencies and now have specific products I use. I use Earthsapp shampoos and conditioners because they are all natural and don’t leave my hair dry. I use ORS mayo, ORS Olive oil deep treatment and Dark and Lovely Amla Legend deep treatment as my deep conditioners. I use The Body Shop hair butter, make my own whipped shea butter mix and alternate between homemade aloe juice sprays and store bought sprays depending on their availability. I also regularly use ACV for rinsing on wash days.

Do more research into hair care.

I did do a few more informative hair care posts, the one I’m most proud of being my newly natural series. There’s still a lot more I could do though so I have to kick it up a notch this year.

Adjust my hair care routine to increase health of hair.

I also succeeded with this goal. I do pre-poos more often now, I do a protein treatment once a month (by adding egg to my deep conditioner) and I did a henna treatment and plan to do so every few months.1461251_10151874069889550_819927923_n

Here are this years goals…

  • Trim more regularly, 2-3 times a year (or use dusting technique).
  • Continue regular protective styling.
  • Continue with monthly protein treatments.
  • Apply castor oil to scalp once a week.
  • Add monthly hot oil treatments to hair care routine.
  • Do Henna treatments every 3 months.

I think I will have much better results by the end of this year. I’m just over 3 years into this nappy thing now and I have not been happy with my growth progress. However I did make mistakes earlier on; constant dyeing caused dryness and breakage and therefore slow growth. But I’m getting the hang of it now.

Wishing you all a happy nappy year ladies (and gentlemen)!!

150197_704437672923879_80045606_n

14 Comments Add yours

  1. matlhodim says:

    Happy new year girl! Your hair really has grown and I’m very inspired. I’ve always related better with your texture out of all the (local) hair bloggers and seeing such progress encourages me a bit. I’ve chopped mine and not planning on growing it for a while till I sort out the scalp issues on the nape and crown. Till. Then, I’ll be following your journey

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Happy new year to you too! Thanks for the kind words. I was tempted to cut mine and start again but I’m seeing progress so I’ve decided to hold on.

  2. Anita says:

    What have you done to your hair? Its so soft and fluffy!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      It mainly depends on my products. A good moisturizing spray or leave in conditioner followed by a shea butter mixture is usually what gets my hair soft and fluffy.

    2. Ms Z. says:

      Oh and thank you!

  3. princessofee says:

    All the best with your plans girl 🙂 I’m keeping it super short and edgy this year, my hubby is so thrilled about that (^^,) but let’s see how I feel in June

  4. Lindi says:

    You hair looks awesome. I’ve been natural for a year now and feel like it is going nowhere. I just have to be patient. i think my hair is very similar to yours. Good to see how you’ve progressed.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Thank you! The progress has come slowly but at least I know why (dyeing and not trimming regularly). I hope you will have better luck this coming year! And yes patience does help quite a bit!

  5. foreverasiam says:

    Hello dear, I’m Asia, just wanted to let you know your blog is amazing well done! I am so definitely following you! Could you please check out my foreverasiam blog and maybe we can follow for follow? 🙂
    Take care!!! 🙂

    1. Ms Z. says:

      I definitely will! Thanks for following!
      🙂

  6. popy2277 says:

    wow im glad to have met this because this is what i am going for this year. I have been hesitant about natural hair but i made up my mind. I am on transition now and i hope these will help strengthen from the roots before i trim the relaxed bits.. 🙂

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Congratulations on your decision! It’s a tough one to make. I hope your journey is a pleasant one and I’m here to help whenever I can 🙂

      1. popy2277 says:

        Yes mos def, i thought about it for the most part of last year, that is why i didnt rush to the chop and i hope i made a good decision by just transitioning( because i still have a choice) then later on trimming off the relaxed parts.I am much convinced now, been following pages on natural hair, but im happier with this one because i can always contact you personally 🙂 🙂 ..i always go crazy about your hair and styling

      2. Ms Z. says:

        Hahahaha!!! Thank you! You’re lucky, I was blind for the first year of my natural mission. I transitioned without knowing it – i kept putting the big chop off out of fear – then eventually I just decided to cut it cz I was sure I was definitely not going to relax again.
        Take your time and have fun with it. Styling used to be tough for me but you get the hang of it over time.

Leave a Reply

