My hair lately….

I’ve been feeling super inspired recently to do the most with my fro. I really wanted to braid it a week ago but plans didn’t work out and I was dreading spending the following week styling it but I had no choice. Surprise surprise I’m having so much fun with it!

I give myself a pat on the back for getting it trimmed, much to my reluctance, a few months ago because I can see the growth now. I’m able to do styles I wouldn’t have been able to do earlier this year. I’ve managed to keep my hair covered for the majority of winter and I aim to do the same for summer. Botswana summers are dry and really hot (30Β ΒΊC is a ‘cool’ day) so having the fro out is just as bad as having it out in winter. This weather has no mercy! But if you’re gonna have it out, protective updos are the way forward for your strands. As long as the ends are safely tucked away, your hair will be happy.

So here’s some updo inspiration for y’all! If you wish to keep up with me on Instagram, look for b_star88.

9956_10151708685524550_991416726_n

Multiple hump updo
Multiple hump updo
Pinned back updo
Pinned back updo
Two side flat twists and a backwards tuck
Two side flat twists and a backwards tuck
High bun (hair is in a hump)
High bun (hair is in a hump)
high rolled bun
high rolled bun
roll, tuck and pin updo
roll, tuck and pin updo
High bun with afro kinky extensions
High bun with afro kinky extensions

In terms of prepping my hair for styling, I would twist it every 2 or 3 days just to keep it somewhat stretched. Every morning I would start by spraying my hair with my homemade spritz, then I’d put on a shower cap for 10-15 minutes so that the hair softens which makes it easier to manipulate with my hands. I would use my hands only to style it. The only tools I needed were my rat tail comb for parting and black hair pins.

All in all, a great week updo wise for the fro! I’m doing twist outs less and less now, proud of maself!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Clemy says:

    BUT I love ur hair… Think I’m gonna hair-jack a couple, if not all of them…
    Wish we had the afro extentions though…

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Thank you and jack away! you’re more than welcome to!

      Afro extensions can’t be found in SA, strange! That’s where I’d expect them to be!

  2. Lebo says:

    i cant wait till my hair can do this too. love your hair styles

  3. Ndeshimona says:

    These are such a great styles. I think it’s high time I start getting up in there and start trying out styles in my hair. Someday… haha πŸ™‚

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Lol! I started by doing one every now and then, I used to find them so difficult! But after some practice it’ll be super easy!

  4. Lin says:

    LOVE all of them! Great styles. Any chance of video tutorials? I’m especially intrigued by the multiple hump updo!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Hmmm, I’ll find some time to do a quick video. It’s really easy though, I’m such a fan of humps cz they look awesome but require so little effort πŸ™‚

  5. Antoinette says:

    i love ur hair and those hair styles… I’m 3 months post relaxer right now and planning to big chop february/ march next year. I have been on a healthy relaxed hair journey for the past 2 yrs and my hair is very big and long. The longer I obsessed about the health of my hair the more hatred i developed for relaxers and started relaxing my hair 3 times a year . This isn’t the first time I’m attempting to go natural, the first time I gave up at 21 weeks post relaxer… but this time I’m sure i will make it… U are my inspiration <3.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Wow, that’s so humbling! πŸ™‚ You’ll do it when you’re ready, it also took me a while to take the plunge. The final time I attempted to go natural (i had stalled for like 2 years, relaxing once or twice a year) I didn’t relax for about 24 weeks before my cousin picked up a pair of scissors and asked me what I was waiting for, lol! I had refused before that day but I suddenly got brave enough and let her cut it the relaxed ends. Healthy hair is so much more fun and rewarding when u see your hard work giving results. Wishing you all the best! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

