Product Review: ORS Hair mayonnaise treatment for damaged hair

8656_10151534165769550_898341320_nThis product is quite common in hair product aisles and is not that hard to find. I have used it many times before but not on natural hair, only on my relaxed hair. I couldn’t tell at the time whether it was good or not because it doesn’t take much to make straight hair feel soft. So I figured the true test was to see if it can do the same for natural hair, in a word: yes!

I purchased it because I was specifically looking for a deep conditioning treatment for my hair (I plan to treat my hair once or twice a month, more on that later). It happened to be on special in Clicks Pharmacy at 45 pula and it’s usually in the 70 pula range. How could I pick up anything else?!

Ingredients:

Water Aqua, Polyquaternium 37, Glycerin,Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Safflower Oil Carthamus Tinctorius, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetyl Alcohol, Olive Oil Olea Europaea, Dicetyldimonium Chloride, Lanolin, Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Panthenol Vitamin B5, Cholesterol , Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Stinging Nettle Urtica Dioica, Capsicum Extract Paprika , Hydrolyzed Keratin, Egg Powder Ovum, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, , DMDM Hydantoin, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methyl Paraben, Propyl Paraben, Brown No. 1 CI 20170, Fragrance Parfum, Benzyl Benzoate, D’Limonene, Linalool, Alphaisomethylionone

I used it after shampooing and left it on for 30-45 minutes with a shower cap though 20 minutes would be fine. My hair was extremely happy!! So soft, moisturized and smooth. It would be well worth the 70 pula it usually goes for! I had used regular salad mayonnaise from my kitchen 2 weeks before and the ORS hair mayonnaise was slightly better in comparison. The main ingredients that you should be excited about are the egg protein, olive oil, cholesterol, and wheat germ oil.  Cholesterol is great for repairing damaged hair or maintaining the health of your hair. It is also great for those that have dyed their hair.

In summary:

Pros

  • Makes hair very soft
  • Great for damaged or over processed hair
  • Easy to find in stores

Cons

  • Quite pricey

I bought mine at Clicks Pharmacy (Railpark branch) however I have seen it in numerous stores at the Station, in supermarkets, hair shops etc. And although the tub is small, a little goes a long way. Go get yourself one and treat your hair! 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Yvonne says:

    I love ORS hair mayonnaise, since forever!!! And still loving it in my journey. You can never go wrong with it. Good to hear its a dream on your natural hair too, in case I go down that route 🙂

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Yup it’s pretty darn good!

  2. I hope to try this soon, thnx! I have a hair mask i recently bought, Pro Naturals Moroccan Argan Oil Hair Mask, it has worked really well so far though I’m always open to trying new products 🙂

  3. MoniqueB says:

    thank u for the recommendation, looks good, I use pro naturals moroccan argan oil hair mask which has helped me a lot leaving my hair soft and healthy again. 😀

Leave a Reply

