My recent protective styles

I’ve been on fire with this protective style thing lately!

I am failing to decide on a long term protective style for winter so I looked for temporary ones online to keep my hair covered till I decided on a long term style. It all started with the picture below….

945263_10151454871273391_1596757648_nI liked this one because the cornrows were a decent size, not too thick nor thin and thank you to the magic of afro kinky extensions the rolled hump at the top would be easy to imitate. I got a comb, left over afro kinky extensions and went to my cousin with the picture. The result is below:

??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????We divided my hair into 2 sections, one being the front section and the second being the rest of the hair. My cousin cornrowed the rest of my hair from the sides towards the back stopping at the middle of my head. She then cornrowed the ends into one row going from the base of my head to the top of my head. She then put afro kinky extentions in the front section, only twisting up to the length of my hair leaving the rest out. I could then pin the twists which ever way I wanted during the week to switch up the style. Case in point:

IMG_20130520_083704

IMG_20130520_083843I then unbraided a few days later when my hair got itchy and a little messy. I didn’t feel so bad unbraiding it so soon given that it only takes 30 minutes to get it done (plus I get it done for free-shout out to my cuz!) I had it in a twist out for one day then followed it up with a scarf and afro kinky hump…

IMG_20130524_144038

IMG_20130524_143907The following day I was attending an event and wanted something lady like but simple. Again I reached for my afro kinky extensions! I pinned the back of my hair upwards and tucked in the ends. I took the front sections and loosely attached a bunch of twists which I then piled and pined into a high bun of sorts on top of my head. It blended easily with my hair and I even fooled some people πŸ™‚

IMG_20130525_133826After this I was ready to put it into another cornrowed updo. This time I wanted the cornrows to go from the left side of my head round and up to the right similar to the picture below:

DSC014521This time the front section was more to the right side of my head and not in the middle as previously done. This time I put complete afro kinky twists and not half done ones. Picture below:

The cornrows go round my head and up to the other side of my head though it's not really visible.
The cornrows go round my head and up to the other side of my head though it’s not really visible.

IMG_20130527_095912And like the first style it’s versatile. I can pin the twists differently to switch it up..

IMG_20130530_090044IMG_20130530_090307I’m having so much fun I’m already wondering what to do next! Maintenance is super easy! I oil my scalp with my HHM oil mix every 2 days and spray twice a day. When it begins to itch, I will unbraid, wash, condition, and get back into it!

What are you doing with your hair during winter?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Lindi says:

    Like this a lot. I battle with long term hair styles. With this I can undo it at most after a week and a half without feeling like I’ve wasted a lot of time and money.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Yup! It’s perfect for me too!

  2. J says:

    Ur awesome n I love ur smile! πŸ™‚
    How did you do the scarf one?

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Lol, thank you!
      I covered my hair with the scarf starting from the back and wrapped it around and tucked it in, I hope that makes sense. It might help to watch my scarf tutorial video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=veunhaSQNak

  3. What cute photos! I love your protective styling ideas. I’m busy looking for inspiration for myself to be able to do my own styles without having to rely on the salon. Will be sharing this with my readers πŸ™‚

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Yay! Thank you! You actually started my protective style obsession with your updo challenge πŸ™‚

  4. Lin says:

    Thumbs up across the board!!

  5. Nat says:

    Your hair styles are so beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

