Product review: Earthsap pomegranate and soy conditioner

Earthsap_Conditioner__33752.1333535202.500.500It’s been a while since I did a product review but the wait has not been in vain!

Packaging really does a lot for a product! Case in point: I walked past this conditioner for months until my better half noticed it. And even though he bought it and went as far as consulting me for it’s quality (I’ve infected him with the natural product bug), I only purchased it for myself a few months after that. I’m sure if they had designed the Earthsap hair care products differently from their cleaning products I would have been more keen to try them out. At first glance they look basic, i.e they have nothing to offer your hair. However a quick look at the ingredients proved otherwise:

Purified water, cetearyl alcohol (source: coconuts), wheat protein, vegetable glyceryn, vitamin e, calendula oil, pomegranate oil, soy protein, panthenol (vitamin B5), decyl glucoside.

As you can see, it’s a natural product fiends dream! Even the alcohol is sourced from coconuts! Nothing in it is synthetic. That alone makes it a great product for me. It comes in bottles of 250ml which is good enough for 2 conditioning sessions, 3 if you’re frugal or if you have shorter hair. On it’s own I wouldn’t say it makes hair extremely soft but it does to a certain extent. When mixed with apple cider vinegar (1 tablespoon per bottle) and Aloe vera juice (2 tablespoons per bottle), it leaves my hair detangled, soft and pretty much awesome. In short:

Pros

  • All natural
  • Can be used as a leave in conditioner since it’s all natural
  • contains pomegranate oil, soy protein and calendula oil
  • Doesn’t leave heavy residue
  • Is reasonably priced (38pula per bottle)
  • Pleasantly scented

Cons

  • There are no bigger bottle sizes available.

Ok so the con isn’t really a con but I had to write something! If you’re intrigued (and live in Botswana), head down to Super Spar at Riverwalk and get yourself a bottle or two. I have also spotted the Earthsap line in Kgale Spar by Game City mall. As far as I know, Spar is the only store that carries the brand. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

Side note: African Hair Blog also included this product on her list of natural products available in stores in her area (she is based in South Africa). Check out her post here and see if you can spot those products in a store near you!

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

