Twisted, rowed and free!

Hope you all had a wonderful Easter holiday! I had a great one! If you follow my Facebook page you know I went to the beautiful country of Mozambique. I went with 2 of my cousins and a friend so it was a girls trip. Drama followed us at every turn, it was fun though and I would go back in a heartbeat! I will blog more about it on my Soul Canvas blog.

I had quite a busy hair schedule previous to the getaway. Had to take my afro kinky twists out for an underwater modelling gig then prep my hair for the holiday. I washed and conditioned after removing the twists, drenched my hair in oil for underwater modelling then after that I did an Apple Cider Vinegar rinse and co-wash. I then got “carrot” cornrows done for my holiday, pic below:

891993_10151437957004550_1626119233_oThe salon session made me sooooo nervous! I went to a salon I had never been to before so I didn’t know if they were any good or not. I can’t remember what it is called but for those living in Gabs, it is directly opposite Dr Cell at the Main Mall. I was lead to a chair then I explained to the hair dresser what I wanted: carrot cornrows going straight back with 3 lines of singles at the back. She began by plugging in a blow dryer but I quickly told her to cease and desist! Straightening would have been a nightmare because my hair was quite shrunken (my fault though, I should have twisted to stretch it the night before). She looked a little worried but obeyed my wishes nonetheless. She picked up an afro comb to which I winced, asked her if she had a wider toothed comb but she said no. I regretted not taking my own. She at least had the sense to damped my hair with hair lotion before attempting to part it so it was not as painful as it could have been. It took about 2 hours to finish and cost me 170 pula (excluding the cost of 2 and a half packs of One Million extensions).

Would you believe I asked her to make them medium size! Those tiny rows are medium to her! They were very neat and VERY tight. They hurt like hell for the following 2 days after braiding so I sprayed my hair with my Bodyshop rainforest hairspray like a mad woman to soothe my scalp. All I took with me to Mozambique was the hair spray, castor oil and a premixed bottle of ACV rinse for rinsing after swimming. Sprayed daily, applied castor oil on my edges and after our day at the beach I rinsed with the ACV.

By the way, I got sand EVERYWHERE. It really was not sexy. My hair got the worst of it, I was still picking out grains 6 days later. I was going to keep the cornrows in for at least 2 weeks but I gave in to the sand and unbraided them on the 6th day.

So much sand!!!
So much sand!!!

The unbraiding process was tedious because the rows were so tiny. I finger detangled, applied my HHM oil mix as a pre-poo, shampooed and conditioned, applied my homemade Kimmaytube leave in plus shea butter mix then twisted it and let it air dry.

Fresh twist out!
Fresh twist out!

And can you see the wonders ACV is doing for my hair?! Compare to the picture below where I wasn’t adding ACV to my conditioner…

IMAG2377

My ends are frizzy and my curls (or kinks) are not as lively and loose. Gotta love that ACV! Read my post on ACV if you want to give it a try too. And you may notice that my hair colour has changed….more on that later.

Oh and here’s a sneak peak of what my girls and I saw in Mozambique…

vlcsnap-2013-04-08-08h21m09s31Happy Monday all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

