Products update and current hair routine/regimen

One of the items in my hair goals post for the new year was adjusting my hair routine to increase my hair’s health and I thought a good place to start would be to take inventory of my current products and current regimen before I decide to change it. I know I have talked about my regimen many times before but I managed to take some pictures to help illustrate the process better.

But lets start with my current products, what I’m using and what I stopped using.

  • Hair, skin and nails supplements (initial post here): I honestly think these did help however I did not document use properly and for about a month or 2 I stopped taking them due to other issues. I discovered that I could not take them without having eaten first or they would make me nauseous. I currently have about 10 pills left. I will finish them then start again probably with a different brand and this time document it properly. 
  • Leave in conditioners: In this post I mentioned that I had bought Dr Miracles Curl care leave in and a Pantene’s strenghing serum leave in to try out. However I will not be buying either again. My hair does not easily absorb the Dr Miracles leave in because it’s too slippery, I think it’s more suited for less kinky hair or at least just hair other than mine. The pantene was ok but it was similar to the Dr Miracles leave in though a little better. I think they are good products for detangling in my case but not for moisturizing or conditioning.
  • Shampoos and conditioners: I have decided to stay with the Pantene range since their Pro-V triple amino instant repair treatment did wonders for my kink. I had been using VO5’s new and improved conditioner however my hair did not feel soft after using it regardless of all the good stuff that they claim is in it. So I decided to just switch to Pantene products until I find a better product range. They are reasonably priced and available in many stores here.
  • New products: I am currently flirting with the Body Shop hair products (available at Body shop in Riverwalk) and I have fallen in love with their moisturizing hair spray (Rainforest radiance , review here). I am also trying out the Banana Banane conditioner and the rainforest moisture conditioner for dry hair and so far so good! All Body shop hair products are paraben, silicone and colourant free.
  • Oils: I have also purchased (and been given) oils and I plan to start having regular hot oil treatments, mixing them with my conditioner or oiling my scalp with them. I have an oil mix given to me by a fellow natural who sells hair products here in Botswana, a VO5 oil elixir containing argan oil and a 118ml bottle of Jamaican castor oil. This in addition to my pure coconut oil and grape seed oil.

So that covers my current products. I am getting better though, the junkism is reducing  now that I know what I need. I’m still a fan of  aloe vera juice so that will forever be a staple in my products cabinet. I can add it to homemade hair sprays and to my conditioners or moisturizers.

Hair regimen

My basic hair regimen has not changed since I started my nappy hair journey. Once a week I shampoo, deep condition, moisturize, seal and detangle then twist and air dry my hair. Daily I moisturize with either a purchased or homemade spray. I twist my hair often to stop it from tangling and matting, sleep with a satin scarf (though I am happy to say I found a satin cap finally!) and re-moisturize, seal and detangle when necessary mid week.

After rinsing out the shampoo, I wrap my hair with a towel and let it soak up the excess water. I do not rub the hair with a towel.
After rinsing out the shampoo, I wrap my hair with a towel and let it soak up the excess water. I do not rub the hair with the towel.
My hair drenched with conditioner
My hair drenched with conditioner
???????????????????????????????
shower cap on for 30 mins to an hour. (Buying a foil cap soon because it retains body heat better)
???????????????????????????????
Then I detangle in sections (after applying moisturizer and a sealing oil) and let it air dry in twists or throw on a satin scarf and sleep.

This routine helps keep my hair manageable. I once did not let it air dry in twists and by the time it dried it had shriveled into a 2-3cm mass. Untangling that mess was horrible.

I do this over the weekends normally and let it dry overnight. Is it time consuming, a little. But with experience I am getting faster. Right now because it is still fairly short I have to do numerous sections but when it’s long enough, 4 sections will be fine.

So that’s the routine. I will now begin my research to see how best to change it.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. J says:

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG!! Am Kenyan. I saw your comment on kurly kichana today morning n I was free the whole day, so I started reading your blog and some older entries. Our hair is the same length because I went natural in Nov 2010..so that is awesome, I wish I could insert a pic.

    Am going to be a regular here! Xoxo

    1. Ms Z. says:

      That’s awesome!! Welcome and I hope I can help out a little with the kink! 🙂

Leave a Reply

