Hair update: 2 years old!

So my hair turned 2 last month and I’m happy to report we are growing!

I took out my braids after a month of having them because I began to miss my hurr! I excitedly detangled and shampooed and conditioned over two days. My hair was quite clean given the regular washing every two weeks so only one application of shampoo was needed.

I bought some new hair products (judge me not) because I’m trying to make more of my own concoctions rather than buying mainly because I thoroughly enjoy being my own hair chemist. So I got a fresh batch of coconut oil (the other one expired), a bottle of grapeseed oil (mucho expensive by the way!), rose water and I found a new V05 conditioner. I no longer use Tresemme because it makes my scalp itch and though I LOVED Pantene’s hair treatment I can no longer find it in Clicks 😦 I found a V05 conditioner that is enriched with 5 oils: argan oil, avocado oil, apricot oil, grapeseed oil and jojoba oil, how could I say no?! Review of it coming soon. I also whipped up a fresh batch of shea body and hair butter. My friend Gorata introduced me to the recipe and I’m now obsessed. Who knows maybe one of these days she and I will be selling this stuff, it’s AWESOME.

Below is the pic of the length check I did the day I took my braids out. I hope to get all my hair to shoulder length by December 2013. Right now only my back hair touches my shoulder. The hair in the front reaches my nose. The struggle continues!

However, I am pretty pleased! I can just about tie a clean high puff! My hair enjoyed the braids I think. Protective styling is awesome for this hair type (4c). I’m planning to have it braided all through the December holidays as well.

I slacked with application of my homemade kimmaytube leave in conditioner (2 tablespoons aloe vera juice, 2 tablespoons leave in conditioner of your choice, 2 teaspoons of two oils of your choice) and I noticed the difference in my hair texture so I’m back to using the homemade leave in for moisturizing. My hair just loves Aloe vera juice.

Just this past weekend I was attending a Food and Wine event and decided to do a bantu knot out. That’s when I realised how much my hair had grown because the twists were quite long and the knot wrapped around itself 3/4 times! Awesome. I used to have to use pins to hold the knots down. Below are a few pictures, I loosened the knots up a little to give it more volume.

Happy birthday to my hair! 🙂

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Tendayi says:

    Happy Birthday to your hair! Wish it many more extra centimetres 🙂

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Lol! Thank you! 🙂

  2. Lin says:

    Whoop whoop! Happy nappiversary. My fro turned ONE last month as well 🙂

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Thanks! Happy nappiversary to you too!

  3. Antoinette says:

    just saw u in “I luv lapolaga” on FB 🙂 ur hair is so beautiful… i love those highlights.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Thank you! Yes I couldn’t resist wine and food!!! 🙂

  4. TWABABE says:

    happy belated birthday to your hair =)
    i think ull be my hair role model i mean what more could a girl want
    you have inspired and helped my hair keep doing what you do and thank you a million =)

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Why am I seeing this so late!? I should be thanking you for reading! You are welcome.

Leave a Reply

