I’m in Afro kinky bulk twists

I finally got my hurr did!

Did twists with some afro kinky bulk extensions a friend of mine was so kind to send from the UK. She sent me 3 packs and I used one and a half. The extensions mimic the texture and thickness of afro hair. The type I got are fairly soft and 24inches long, but because of “shrinkage” they appear to be shorter. They were in “bunches” attached to a threaded track much like a weave but not as tightly.They were very easy to pull away.

This is not my extension but it is packed in the same way.

My cousin did the braiding as always. I honestly have no idea how she did them without cutting the length in half but I’m sure any experienced hair dresser knows what to do.

This was my first time using them and the verdict so far? I LOVE them! I basically get to experience what it would be like if my fro was longer, thicker and in twists. I didn’t bother straightening my hair before braiding because my hair is exactly the same texture as the braid. Parting was not painful because my cousin was gentle with my hair, she has natural hair too so she’s patient. However I had detangled 2 days before and kept it in twists till braiding time so it separated fairly easily. Another plus for these extensions? They are SUPER light! I feel like I have nothing on my head. They don’t pull at my edges too as a result, so I’m not worried about my edges at all. (However the castor oil routine will continue).

Styling wise, I work with them the same way as I would my own hair. I can also use styles often used by people with locs.

I really love the look and it’s something different for me, I’m quite excited! Hopefully I will keep it braided for up to 2 months. I usually chicken out early because I miss my hair, but since this is like my hair, maybe I won’t chicken out so soon.

As you can see above, I’m totally ecstatic!

I’ll clarify and condition every two weeks, keep my hair moisturized with JO’M olive oil spray and a homemade spritz of aloe vera juice, coconut oil and Pantene leave in conditioner. I’ll also keep applying JO’M cinnamon and jojoba oil moisturizer and castor oil to my edges. I forsee a hair free two months! Yay!

I’ll keep you all updated with how it goes!

15 Comments Add yours

  1. FroChic says:

    I love them…oh I love love love em!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Thankyou! I love them just as much! 🙂

  2. Lin says:

    I love everything about them (especially the colour!). I’m officially green 😉

    1. Ms Z. says:

      lol, thanks! Do you have the afro kinky extensions that side? It’s still not available locally here 😦

      1. Lin says:

        No 😦 but I live in hope…maybe one day. I need those on my head!!

  3. TWABABE says:

    I LOVE EM TOO ARE YOU ABSOLUTELY SURE THEY NOT AVAILABLE IN BOTS? I THINK AKHONA FROM GENERATONS HAS THESE SOOO VERY CUTE

    1. Ms Z. says:

      I haven’t found them in the stores but I know someone who sells them.

      1. Xolisa says:

        Ms Z who sells this hair? I just have to get my hands on them they are so beautiful my goodness.

      2. Brandy says:

        I buy from ladies who get the hair from other countries. Do you live in Botswana?

      3. Xolisa says:

        Sadly I am in Cape Town, miles away from Botswana. What is the dialing code for Botswana, I’m hoping Koketso is willing to post for me because I don’t have anyone who will be traveling anytime soon.

      4. Brandy says:

        the dialing code is +267. fingers crossed she still has stock!

  4. TWABABE says:

    YAAAY WHO?????

    1. Brandy says:

      Koketso, call her on 74002169 and ask if she still has stock.

  5. nontokozo says:

    please i would like to know how much they cost because people i met who have them,got them outside south africa,i need them as i am that akward phase of a TWA

    1. Brandy says:

      They cost me 100 pula a pack. If you know anyone that’s going to Zambia, Kenya or Tanzania tell them to buy them for you!

Leave a Reply

