Natural Hair meet-up!

So we had the first nappy heads meet-up in Gabs! I was ridiculously excited when I got the invitation, sadly many of my fellow cotton tops could not join me since they were all otherwise occupied.

First of all what is the purpose of a meet-up? To share ideas and advice about how to take care of natural hair, styling ideas and what products to use. Not everyone has time (like I do) to watch YouTube videos or read blogs to learn how to take care of it. So it’s an opportunity to help each other-and not a relaxer bashing meeting!

Deep in conversation…

It was a small group that met and everyone was open and willing to talk. We were hosted by the lovely Lollise Mbi who also provided some delicious snacks courtesy of her friend Monet (I hope that spelling is correct), I am still dreaming about her samosas!

We started by introducing ourselves, sharing why we went natural, how long we’d been natural and what we wanted to learn from the meeting. All of us are at various stages and lengths. Some went natural for political reasons, to rebel, others for health, others for low maintenance, others to remedy hair damage or just for a change. We also had a lovely lady in dreadlocks in attendance and she pretty much had the same struggles we did. The main issue was styling and how to keep the hair moisturized given Botswana’s dry climate.

We discussed products, which to use and not to use and why. We shared a few styling ideas and discussed hair routines/regimens. We also had a salon hate session because most of us had had bad experiences at local salons. Some had been charged more because natural hair “is difficult to work with”, others had been implored to relax it and some had their scalps abused by rough hair dressers. It’s sad that on our continent, our home, the one place where our natural hair should be accepted by hair dressers, we are still having to justify hair that we are born with. It’s such a ridiculous notion and offensive, to have to sit and listen to someone who is as black as you tell you your hair is not good enough for their services. Hair dressers need to stop blaming us for their lack of knowledge.

The lovely Lebo with her thick fro styled into a high puff with flat twists.

Our host also happens to sell pure unrefined shea butter at reasonable prices. If you live around Gabs, get at me on The Soul Canvas Facebook page for details.

Shea butter for sale!
Our host Lolli rocking a fresh twist out

It was a first of many more meet-ups to come I hope because there’s still a lot of knowledge to share. Lollise gave me a complimentary bag of shea butter as a thank you for coming. Since I already have some I think it’s only right that I not be greedy and give it away.

So if you would like some shea butter simply like the Soul Canvas Facebook page and write on the wall! Shea butter is good for hair whether it’s relaxed or not so everyone can join in. The giveaway is not restricted to those in Gaborone, anyone in Africa can join in!

The winner will be chosen at random on http://www.random.org/. Each comment shall be numbered and using the website a random number will be picked to determine the winner. The giveaway ends on Sunday 26th August.

Below is the prize…

A shea butter portion worth 30 Pula

If you have some shea butter and you’re not sure how to use it, refer to this post

All in all I had a great time and can’t wait for the next one! Hope to see tons of new faces there!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. amotswanainaustralia says:

    Great hearing about natural hair meet ups in Bots… Wish I was home!

  2. miss kay says:

    thank you so much for all the useful tips you gave us at the natural hair meet up!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      You’re welcome! I’m always happy to help! Throw more questions my way anytime 🙂

  3. Naturee says:

    That’s so awesome! Natural hair is sooo beautiful I refuse to believe that people don’t see that! Haha.. Could I get the ladies contacts from you so I could buy shea butter?

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Not a problem! Ill text it to you 🙂

  4. TWABABE says:

    how come not every1 z invited would have loved to attend love da flat twists on lebo guess me and her have the same hair type bcuz my flat twists are never defined jus like hers….so culd you knidly ask her bou her bhair type?/ thanx

    1. Ms Z. says:

      It was a short notice thing, next time more people will definitely be invited. I will pass the question on to Lebo for you 🙂

  5. TWABABE says:

    THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH

  6. silent_observer says:

    This is great I’m hoping the natural hair world grows and grows in this country full of stereotypes -_- . I screamed when I saw that shea butter was for only 30 bucks! I have to get my hands on it ASAP Ms Z you are the best your blog is forever rocking 😉 .

  7. silent_observer says:

    does she still sell the shea butter?

Leave a Reply

