Fro Feature: Daphne

Time to meet another fabulous natural sister!

Daphne is one of the Malawians I know living here in Botswana however she currently spends majority of her time in Namibia where she is studying. I only recently noticed her cute red fro and finally plucked up the courage to ask her to be featured.

Meet Daphne!

How long have you been natural?

I have been natural for 4yrs now.

Why did you chose to go the natural route?

My relaxed hair started to break and it was thin so I decided to cut it all off. I went short and when it started to grow back I decided to just keep it natural and kept braiding it.

How do people usually react when they see your natural hair for the first time?

“Aaaaaaahhhh wow I didn’t know you had natural hair! It’s sooo nice…” Usually people are always shocked coz I’m always in a weave so its a big surprize when they see my natural hair.

What do you love most about your hair?

I love that my natural hair is very soft and not kinky hard…  like most people’s..lol

What do you hate most about your hair?

I hate that my hair is thin and breaks easily

In short, whats your hair care routine?

Well before and after a weave or braids I make sure to have a hot oil treatment because I like to colour my hair, my natural hair colour sucks. When I have my weave on or braids, I make sure to oil my scalp as often as possible to prevent dryness and I don’t keep a weave for longer than a month or braids for more than 2 months.

What are your long term hair goals, if you have any?

I definately want my fro to get bigger and thicker in the long run, that’s if i don’t end up relaxing it….just kiddin…lol

Who is your hair idol?

When it comes to natural hair, it’s definately Solange Knowles. She is awesome and I can’t get enough of her hair! Even if it means I get a wig to make my fro look like Solange’s I will….

Solange Knowles

A big thank you to Daph for sharing her hair!

Please don’t hesitate to send in an email if you would like to be featured 🙂 Big fro’s, small fro’s, all fro’s are welcome!

Leave a Reply

