The wonders of Castor oil

I stopped by a pharmacy yesterday (Link Pharmacy at the Main Mall) to buy something and ended up in the hair aisle as usual (I am a victim of product junkism). Link Pharmacy has a natural products (oils, powders etc) section and though they are intended for ingestion to cure various ailments majority can also be used on hair. So to me this aisle is also a hair products aisle!

Last time I was there I bought aloe juice which has become quite essential in my hair routine. This time while browsing I spotted some Castor oil and grabbed it excitedly. I am about to braid my hair so I figured it would be a good investment for my hair line as blogs I come across constantly recommend it to prevent and improve receding hairlines.  I have weak hairline and braids have always wrecked havoc with it. The men in my fathers family also have a balding problem which I hope will not in any way affect my hair!

Apart from that benefit I didn’t really know what other benefits of Castor oil there are so I decided to do some research and this is what I found….

Castor oil is a vegetable oil that is drawn from the castor bean/seed. It is a colorless to very pale yellow liquid with mild or no odor or taste. It is used to preserve food, for medicinal purposes (traditional and holistic) and as a lubricant.

In reference to use on the body it can be used to

  • ease/cure acne
  • ease shingles
  • prevent stretch marks
  • remove corns and soften calluses
  • cures skin infections like athletes foot and ring worm
  • removes age spots
  • removes moles and warts

In reference to hair it’s main strength is in the thickening of hair whether it be facial or on your scalp. Therefore it prevents baldness, thickens eyelashes and eyebrows, stimulates hair growth and makes hair soft and shiny.

Sounds like a miracle oil to me!

As with any other oil or hair product, if you want to remove build up of the product from your hair, you can dilute a teaspoon of baking soda in a cup of water and use that to rinse your hair (It’s called a clarifying wash). Or alternatively you could buy a clarifying shampoo if you have access to one. I do a clarifying wash with baking soda every 2 weeks or so, leaves my hair feeling squeeky clean!!

But I digress.

Here is an article that describes the skin and hair related benefits of castor oil in detail.

In terms of use:

  • castor oil is best used after your hair has been moisturized (with water or any other moisturizer you have) because it is a sealing oil, it traps moisture in your hair which makes it soft.
  • It is a very thick oil so its best to use it sparingly. Another option is to mix it with other oils ( eg it can be used in the Kimmaytube inspired leave in)
  • It can be used as a pre-poo
  • It can be mixed with your conditioner for deep conditioning purposes (deep conditioning is leaving the conditioner on your hair for at least 30 mins or more)
  • It can be applied directly to the scalp to combat dandruff and itching
  • It can be massaged into the scalp to stimulate hair growth (Appearance of results take anywhere from 3-6 months depending on your hair type and how you use it)

I’m planning to use it for my hair line and I’ll probably use it in my kimmaytube leave in at some point. I’ll take a before picture of my hair line and check again in 3 months, then again in 6 months. I hope I won’t get lazy and skip a few days of application! Another idea I have is to mix it with my JO’M jojoba oil and cinnamon moisturizer which is also good for thinning hairlines.

The bottle I bought was really cheap (13 bucks/ <$2) however given the size I may find myself buying more soon. (I also need to return to replenish my aloe-juice supply!)

Frankly I think I may have to start bathing in this stuff, seems like a miracle oil!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

