Blog hopping: African Hair blogs (Relaxed and natural)

You’ve gotta love the Internet. Sharing knowledge and learning from other peoples experiences has never been as easy as it is today.

I was looking at a post Africanhairblog wrote about her daughters hair and I noticed how healthy and well groomed her daughters hair was. On the link on her facebook page I commented about how I wish our mothers knew what we know know about hair care, we’d all have good hair habits and long tresses to match! 🙂

For the longest time we have believed that black females cannot grow long hair and if they do it’s because of genetics. I remember often asking friends with longer hair than mine when I was younger what they did to “make” their hair grow. Most would recommend a product of some sort then I’d go and use it but more often than not I’d see no progress. This is because I had the wrong hair care practices. However instead of asking people how they take care of their hair I thought there was some miracle product that would “make” my hair grow. Having given up on the relaxer route I decided to try going natural and it just so happened that at the time that I did, there was a plethora of information available online for natural/afro hair care. So I now see my hair progress and I’m developing the right hair habits. And those of you with relaxed hair can also benefit from the hair care information that is out there.

More often than not all this hair care advice we find is from girls in the developed world (UK, USA etc) and we all know product wise they have more of a variety than we do here which is why when I come across African hair blogs by Africans living in Africa, I do a little dance.  I have come across 3 blogs that are written by females living here in Africa and their hair progress photos speak volumes. We can do it too. Long hair is still possible here, even with limited products. And it’s not just a select few who can grow their hair, its all of us.  You just need to figure out the right habits.

First up is Tendayi, owner of African Hair Blog. She is based in Pretoria and has been on a healthy hair mission since 2009. Check out her blog here and her hair regimen/routine here. The proof is in the pudding as they say, look at her hair growth progress in the pic below:

Next up is Kavuli, owner of Good Hair Diaries. She is based in Cape Town, has natural hair and began her healthy hair mission in September 2009. Check out her blog here and her hair regimen/routine here. She currently has Bra strap length hair so she definitely knows what she’s doing!

 She also had numerous recipes for leave in conditioners, curl puddings and conditioners all using products we can actually get at our local hair product supply store.

Lastly meet sisters Joanne and Evelyn who are on a joint healthy hair mission that they share on their blog GAHL (Grow African Hair Long). They are based in Kenya and have been on their healthy hair mission since 2010. Joanne’s hair regimen is here and Evelyn’s regimen is here.

Joanne
Evelyn

With all this free hair care advice available on the internet we really have no excuse to be desire other peoples hair. If they can, you can too! Happy healthy hair growing! 🙂

P.S. Here are some more African Hair blogs courtesy of Tendayi from African Hair Blog:

It’s Natural : by four contributers: M Masuka, Miss Bwalya, Inky and Mwila Agatha Zaza. This blog is based in Zambia

Kurly Kichana : by two afro haired girls, Mary and Nyachomba,  based in Kenya.

Fro chic : by Matlhodi Mashamba who has a fro and Nangamso Phakathi who has locks. And it is based in South Africa.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Tendayi says:

    Thanks for mentioning me 🙂 I also went on a search for blogs by African women in Africa when I started blogging. Here are a few more that I love – http://www.zedhair.com/, http://www.kurlykichana.com/, http://www.frochic.co.za/. Enjoy!!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Ooooooh thank you!!! My eyes will bleed from staring at the computer screen all night, lol!

  2. Kavuli says:

    This is awesome! Thank you so much 🙂

    1. Ms Z. says:

      You’re welcome! I hope to try one of your recipes soon! 🙂

  3. FroChic says:

    Oh wow…thanks for the mention girl. Yes we can!!lol

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Lol, you’re welcome! 🙂

  4. MasukaM says:

    Hey, thanks for mentioning our blog, http://www.ZedHair.com (It’s Natural). I have been so inspired by hair blogs by other Africans based in Africa. Aside from the ones you have mentioned, I have been greatly inspired by http://www.naturalnigerian.com

    1. Ms Z. says:

      You’re welcome and thanks for the heads up, I’ll add it to my list. 🙂

  5. raye says:

    beautifull hair i admire wish same for my kinky hair i live in usa love to get your product

Leave a Reply

