Quick link…

While wondering around on Facebook, I stopped by Africanhairblog‘s page (follow her page and blog! esp those of you with relaxed hair) and I happened to spot a link one of her readers posted. It was a link to her own blog where she had written about her hair journey and how she’s learning to love her fro.

What struck me the most is that she’s mixed/coloured. As a child I was always envious of their fast growing frizzy manes especially because when they relaxed/straightened it, it was much thicker and longer than ours. I never thought that someone with hair like that could face the same issues as I did with my own hair like feeling like it’s not nice enough in it’s natural state.

It’s nice to see things from her point of view. Made me realise we may look different but the hair struggle is the same no matter what race you are. You always want what you can’t have. Self acceptance is the core issue at the end of the day.The part that really resonated with me was this:

While I’m not criticizing relaxers and GHD’s etc (after all they served me well!) I needed to look deeper into the motivation behind what I was doing. For me those tools helped me cover up what I didn’t like about myself, so that hopefully the world could see something else, something I thought would be more desirable. In Chris Rock’s words, for me, ‘it was time to get off the creamy crack!’. Maybe it’s my quarter life crises talking (I did just turn 30!) but I’m at a point where I’m ready to say ‘hey this is who I am, this is the real me the way God put me on earth and I’m happy with the job he did’.

Lovely. Check out her blog post here.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for sharing – more than ever, we really are all in this together, I will be checking checking back on you and your fro 🙂

    1. Ms Z. says:

      No thank you! 🙂 I really enjoyed reading your post! I will be checking up on ur fro too 🙂

Leave a Reply

