My curly cotton top in pictures!

So I finally got my hands on a proper camera to take pictures of my hair so y’all can see what it really looks like πŸ™‚

My hair is a year and a couple months old (I did my big chop in October 2010), has been dyed at least 3 times with dark and lovely dyes and twice with henna and it’s texture is tightly coiled, slightly rough to the touch when not moisturized well. I basically have a wirey cotton ball growing out of my scalp! lol!

It refuses to shine and such like other afro hair textures I see online so I’ve concluded that’s due to the type of hair I have or the products-one of the two! I’ve also had to learn to accept it as it is! I know a lot of us look at pictures on blogs and wonder why our hair doesn’t look like that or behave like that or grow as fast. Just do the best you can and love it for what it is! πŸ™‚

My hair is in what I call a fluffy braid out because when I unbraided it in the morning I sprayed it with some JO’M orange oil spray which made it fluff out or frizz out a little giving the volume effect it currently has. My hair is actually not that thick though I wish it was!

side-note: I forgot to put makeup on so forgive my naked unpainted face, lol, *cringe*

Enjoy!

Just noticed how unkempt my edges are, hmmmm. Might start using my Fantasia IC Olive hair polisherΒ after all!

Please feel free to share pictures of your afro for me to post! πŸ™‚

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Lin says:

    All that TLC’s paying off…great length!! My baby still has some way to go *sigh* Love the henna colour…maybe I’ll have to give henna a try sooner than I thought πŸ˜‰

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Thankyou! πŸ™‚

  2. thoko says:

    I love it, I feel motivated. I wish i could care of my hair like you do. “Just do the best you can and love it for what it is” Thats the best advice you can give a ny newly natural. Accepting the facts that our hair is gonna behave the way it please is key to growing natural hair. I have come to love and accept my
    afro which sometimes looks small depending on itts mood and it okay…lol

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Yup it’s definitely something I’ve had to keep reminding myself, natural hair will do what it wants to do,lol.

  3. FroChic says:

    I love your hair – it looks so beautiful & healthy! Is that a twist-out in the pics or did you just comb it with your fingers? Great blog by the way, keep up the good work!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      It’s a braid out. However because I sprayed it with a moisturizer it shrunk and thickened up a little. And yeah I always use my fingers, best comb I have! Thanks! I Love yours as well, been goin through it today.

Leave a Reply

