My Hair products


My lil collection

Whenever I meet new naturals they ask the question I often asked my natural friends when I first did the big chop; “What products do you use?” Very quickly into the whole being natural process you realize that the products you used to use may not work with your hair in it’s natural state as well as they did when your hair was straight.

Another common question is “What can I use to make my hair soft?” Again this goes back to your choice of products, some don’t really help while others work very well.

I’m still in the process of learning what works and experimenting but I’ll share what I’ve learnt so far and what I use. If you have any tips or comments for me feel free to share! We can all learn from each other’s experiences. 🙂 So I’ll go through my products group by group and explain how I use them.

Shampoo and Conditioner

When I first went natural I used ORS Olive oil shampoo with any conditioner I could get my hands on. Then at the suggestion of a friend I began to use Organics shea butter enriched shampoo and conditioner. I stuck with that for a while because it was affordable and produced fairly good results. Currently I’m finishing off my Organics conditioner and moving on to Tresemme Naturals shampoo and conditioner. I’m very happy with Tresemme and though it is quite costly it works very well. However if the price is too much for you feel free to mix it up with any other cheap but good conditioner of your choice. Dark and lovely Cholesterol is a good alternative, as is ORS hair mayonnaise and Organics shea butter conditioner. I have found that more often than not the expensive shampoos and conditioners we’ve often passed in the aisles are the best ones, such as : Pantene, Head and shoulders, Tresemme, Schwarzkopf, L’Oreal etc. I am yet to hear a black female,whether natural or relaxed, complain about any of these products. However they are quite expensive so you may not be able to use them regularly.

Moisturizers

I am not a fan of the Dark n Lovey moisturizer or the ORS Olive oil moisturizing hair lotion however I couldn’t bring myself to throw them away. Instead I found an empty Soft wave moisturizer spray bottle and used it to concoct a mix of the two moisturizers, water and Indian coconut oil. Whenever my hair seems a little dry or when I’m twisting it I spray some of it on. The ORS Olive oil cream and JO’M cinnamon and jojoba moisturizer are new additions to my little arsenal. I mix them together and use them to moisturize my hair after washing and conditioning. I also use the JO’M on my edges to prevent thinning. I am happy with the JO’M product thus far and will continue to use it. However as soon as the Olive oil cream is finished I plan to ditch it and get ORS Carrot oil cream instead.

Styling products and sprays

I went into a styling frenzy when I first went natural because I was excited however it has waned over time. I got the Fantasia IC Olive hair polisher with the aim of defining my curls and achieving a hair texture similar to this. However I’m very lazy and every time I start, I do a small section then give up- that’s why the jar is still full. The little Tresemme bottle is a heat protectant spray which I will be using on my hair next week before straightening it with a flat iron and trimming it. I opted for the tiny travel size bottle because I won’t use it often. The L’Oreal Elvive mousse is also for defining curls and since the application of it is much faster than the Fantasia IC Olive hair polisher I have successfully used it once before. The only problem with it is you need A LOT of mousse to get the desired effect. The Olive oil sheen spray I think I have only used once, I should probably give it away. The JO’M orange oil softening spray is for daily use similar to the home made moisturizer spray I mentioned above.

Coconut oil

I love my Coconut oil!!! I use coconut oil for sealing my hair. Sealing is basically trapping moisture within your hair by using an oil or butter.It is not a technique limited to those with natural hair, even those with relaxed hair do it. To seal you need to start with wet/damp hair, therefore I usually do this after shampooing and conditioning. While it’s damp you apply a moisturizer of your choice; I use my ORS Olive oil cream and JO’M cinnamon and jojoba moisturizer mix. Then you apply a “top coat” of a sealing oil or butter. Oils you can use include : Olive Oil, Grapeseed Oil, Coconut Oil, Avocado oil etc, the list is a long one. Basically if it is a natural oil, you can use it. Your other option is a butter eg Shea butter or Mango butter. The aim of this is too keep the moisture in your hair which helps keep it soft and prevents it from drying out. I had shea butter in the early days of my fro however it is finished now so I moved on to coconut oil. The MPL coconut oil in the picture above has sulphur in it and I dislike the tingly feeling it gives me on my scalp so I don’t use it anymore, I’ll probably end up throwing it away. The Indian coconut oil on the far right in the picture is satisfactory; I use it as an ingredient in my home made spray. The coconut oil in the middle is pure coconut oil, so it is also edible and can be used in cooking. That is the one I use for sealing. However I would really like to find a butter because the results from using a butter were much better than using an oil. Until then, the coconut oil will do.

And that’s it! I hope I have been of some help!

I now LOVE buying hair products and can literally spend hours in a hair care aisle studying ingredients and such. I get attracted to anything claiming to be natural and if it’s new I’ll want to give it a go. But I’m trying to curb my enthusiasm and finish what I have first! Clicks Pharmacy especially will be the death of me.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Lin says:

    Thanks for this post! I’m loving the Southern African perspective on natural hair…I’m from Swaziland and I’m currently in the throes of a full-on all-consuming love affair with my natural hair. Weird thing is this is my third time going natural…but this time it’s different:) Anyhoo, I’ve been dying to get my hands on some 100% cocunut oil, I too was sorely disappointed with the MPL oil 😦 I’ve look at all the Clicks stores we have here with no luck, maybe you can point me in the right direction…where did you buy yours? Same thing with the henna, tried Clicks and the local Indian-owned shops in my town but no luck.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Hi! The lack of an Southern African perspective is what prompted me to start this blog 🙂 Cz although the advice we get from American natural hair bloggers is good, it’s hard to translate to our environment.
      3rd time going natural? wow! I lack the patience to go through the short hair phase again,lol.
      I got my coconut oil and Henna in an Indian spice shop actually.They mainly sell spices so the Henna and coconut oil is not always there but I got lucky this time.Clicks wouldn’t stock Henna. If you have any Indian/Muslim friends try asking them if they use Henna and where they buy it from, that might help. If you hit a dead end with the coconut oil, try Amla hair oil. It’s also an Indian hair product but I’ve seen it in many places this side, even our Spar sometimes has it.

  2. Lin says:

    Thanks for the pointers! The henna is for future use though, coloured my hair in december using good ol’ Dark ‘n lovely and I’m curious to see what it’ll look like as the roots keep growing. Interestingly, noticed the J’OM products for the first time yesterday…and I was itching to try the spray you featured BUT I dragged myself away from the aisle coz I already have too many products for someone with 5 month old hair! My staples are mainlyfrom the ORS range, and I’m loving the Creme of Nature Argan Oil conditioning treatment too! Keep the posts coming:)

    1. Ms Z. says:

      I really wanna try the Argan oil products too….and I wanna buy aloe vera juice and Im getting more JO’M products and I wanna make a home made avocado conditioner…lol, I’m a junkie. But I trying to restrain myself as well. But give in to JO’M at least 🙂

  3. Lin says:

    Lol…u’re most definately a junkie! I can relate though, I scored big this weekend…found both the cocunut oil AND Henna in a spice shop in one of our bigger towns:) Can you believe I was EXCITED about deep conditioning this weekend, just coz I was trying out a new concoction…added honey and coconut oil to my ORS conditioner *shaking my head* Trust me the JO’M spray is still calling…you know that’s junkie code for “it’s only a matter of time before I buy some”!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Yay glad you found the coconut oil and Henna! 🙂 Spice shops are the place to be,lol. Indians generally have good hair practices so it only makes sense that we get their products too. How did the concoction work out? Did your hair like it?

  4. Lin says:

    The concoction was aight…I’ll prob do it again, but maybe switch it up and add some (canned coconut milk that I just had to buy!!) and some olive oil as well. Think I still prefer the argan oil treatment though…but I’ll experiment a bit more. Have you tried the DIY avo treatment?? Please let me know about the aloe vera juice…have read good things about it!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      I haven’t tried the Avo treatment yet but will do soon. I’m also curious about home protein treatments so I wanna find a few recipes then when I have time ill try them out. I am yet to purchase the Aloe juice but I have located it, it’s jus a matter of when, I’m quite excited about it as well! Will do a review when I do use it. 🙂

  5. TWABABE says:

    WHICH INDIAN SHOP IN BOTS DID YOU BUY THE COCONUT OIL I HAVE THE ORS COCONT OIL AND IT STINKS IN MY HAIR SO I WANNA DITCH IT

    1. Ms Z. says:

      There’s an Indian spice store in Broadhurst industrial near Shoppers that sells pure coconut oil. After shoppers, turn right and at the end of that road, on the right, there is Reliable.

  6. Robyn says:

    I LOVE the fact that you mentioned the “expensive, white hair products” such as Tresseme, Pantene etc. I am a Pantene FREAK! I’ve been experimenting recently with other lines, but end of this month I am going back to my very trusted Pantene shampoos and conditioners. I love the ORS deep conditioners though but Pantene and Tresseme are the best (in my mind) as normal clarifying shampoos and instant conditioners. Yes, they are a little pricey, but so is jumping around between product ranges. I am on the road to simplifying my routine and streamlining my product stashes. I also LOVE coconut oil. I usually just grab the Clicks brand name bottle, hasn’t let me down yet. I am curious to try out coconut milk and coconut cream though, as add ons to my deep conditioners…maybe I’ll buy a can or two end of the month – use half a can for a Thai curry, and the other half in my hair, hahaha!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      I have also bought coconut milk and cream but I can’t bring myself to actually use it on my hair! Hahahaha!!! I also need to simplify but I keep finding new products I’m dying to try. But my rule is finish one product before you buy a new product of the same type and so far that’s curbed my junkie tendencies. 🙂

  7. Jo says:

    Dear “Soul Hair”

    I have a huge problem with my hair..don’t know what to use anymore..my hair is ‘fried’ lol and my BF had to cut it boys cut 😦
    The problem with me is that I relax my hair and then when I see the colour of my hair is dull I dye it at the same time. And it went on for years. My hair don’t wana grow its dead…I tried the Dark and Lovely cholesterol,I also have the Dark and lovely AMLA damage antidote, the 1001Amla oils cream and I bought the MPL medicated hair oil today. The thing is I’m too impatient with my hair…Can u please give me some tips. I’m running out of options and I don’t want to do BAD to my hair anymore..

    Tanx Jo

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Hello! Sorry about your hair! Damaged hair can be quite upsetting. You need to be more careful with hair dyes and relaxer! I used to make the same mistakes too. Hair dyes and relaxer are very strong chemicals and you need to give your hair a couple months break in between. Relax no more than 3 to 4 times a year and when you do make sure only the new growth is relaxed. The previously relaxed ends should not touch any chemical!
      In addition to that you need to apply treatment/deep conditioner to your hair at least once a month and it must be a protein treatment which will help strengthen your hair. Cholesterol is a good protein conditioner and the Amla deep conditioner is a good moisturizing one too. Every time you wash your hair, follow it up with a conditioner.
      The oils are good, just use them as per the instructions on the packaging.
      I don’t know if you use heat (blow dryers, flat irons etc) on your hair but if you do keep that to an absolute minimum if you can.
      Most of all, you need patience! Otherwise you won’t get very far. If you treat your hair right, it will eventually recover. You already took the right first step in cutting it so that all the damaged ends are gone.
      Hope this helps, let me know if you have any more questions.

  8. Fundo says:

    Great blog! Do you do YouTube videos?

    1. Brandy says:

      I do but I haven’t done any recently.

Leave a Reply

