Product Review: Schwarzkopf Gliss Hair Repair with Liquid Keratin

I have spent many a time in the hair care aisle of pharmacies and supermarkets being seduced by the packaging of all Schwarzkopf products so when I found their conditioner on special I was more than happy to forego my intended shopping mission and buy it. When I got home I dove straight into my wash routine eager to give this normally expensive conditioner a test run.

Usually I buy Tresemme Naturals conditioner which is 70 pula ($9) for 750ml, Schwarzkopf 200ml is that same price, so although I have been tempted I could never bring myself to spend so much on so little. On special however it was 30 pula ($4), less than half the usual price.

Similar to the V05 conditioner I reviewed previously, it contains liquid keratin and promises to give your hair some silkiness, smoothness and a little shine. Now for the shine part I’m not too fussy since I know most products of this type are meant for and tested on Caucasian hair. So I judged this product on its ability to make my hair soft, silky and smooth to the touch.

I used it twice and both times it definitely delivered in terms of making my hair smooth and silky to the touch. However it didn’t make it as soft as I had wanted. It’s also a light conditioner unlike VO5 which is heavier on the hair.

I cannot justify spending 70 pula ($9) on this product regularly for my particular hair type. I need conditioners that make my hair soft or it will be very course and not as easy to manage. If you however have naturally soft hair or relaxed hair and a forgiving bank account I presume this product would be great for you.

The pluses

  • It is a light conditioner so it does not weigh down your hair
  • Makes hair silky
  • Makes hair smooth to the touch
  • Good for fighting frizz
  • Lovely scent

The minuses

  • Much more expensive than the usual range of similarly effective products available
  • Does not make hair as soft as I’d hoped

The choice to try this conditioner is up to you however I doubt I will be buying this particular type again. However there are other products Schwarzkopf makes that I still want to try, for example their Schwarzkopf Gliss Kur range which also has leave in conditioners.

Its the packaging…my Achilles heel.

And it has shea cashmere!!! And no I don’t know what that is yet….but the product junkie in me is dying to try it! :)

